cursing + baby quilt = bad auntie

I recently learned from an informal poll of the lucky people I bore on a regular basis with my silly ideas family and friends that it is inappropriate to incorporate cursing into the design of a baby quilt. I know. Shocking.

The pressure was on to come up with a unique idea for Island Baby’s quilt, especially because Island Auntie and Uncle are expert sewers. Heck, they even have their own online shop. I wanted to come up with something original and fun, but the only direction I received from Island Auntie was that they like neutral colors. Easy enough. I knew that I wanted the quilt to reflect their love of nature in some way. A quick look through my fabric stash and the theme “Three Little Birds” emerged.

I sketched a large branch with three smaller branches sticking off of it. On each small branch, I drew a bird. The birds on the top two branches are perched happily right-side-up and the first bird has one of those cartoon conversation bubbles filled with hearts, as if he were saying “love, love, love.” The second one has musical notes in his conversation bubble as if he were chirping a little tune. The third bird–THE TROUBLEMAKER– is hanging upside-down from his branch. Here’s where the cursing part comes in. He is saying “#@%?!!&#.” In order to balance the pseudo-swearing, I was going to make a floating banner on the border that reads: “May your life be all {insert drawings of hearts} and {insert drawings of music notes}, sweet little one.”

I was a little hesitant about the #@%?!!&# part, but my hunch was that Island Auntie would think it was funny. Before I made a decision to take my simple sketch and turn it into quilted reality, I took a poll. The lady-folk in my life unanimously agreed that curse words, real or imagined, should never grace the front of a baby quilt. The Cydermaker simply said, “I don’t get it.” The only supporter of my crazy idea was the Sargent. I think my next project will have to be a mini-quilt with lots of bad words just for him.

So, faithful apple cyder readership, I ask you. To curse or not to curse? I am curious to learn what you think and, frankly, am wondering if anyone has read this far down. Let me know. Post a comment!

3-birds-sketch-2.jpg

This is a sketch I doodled on a lunch break while telling my fellow crafty work friend, Rosie, about the idea. Rosie thought that I would be somehow fastening actual branches onto the quilt. Either I am not very good at explaining (probably), or she has an overactive imagination (also likely), or it’s a combination of the two. At any rate, Rosie hails from the no-swearing-on-baby-quilts camp.

6 thoughts on “cursing + baby quilt = bad auntie

  1. Found you via the Tag Surfer.

    If it were me, I’d have the upside-down bird’s conversation bubble just having three exclamation points, and maybe a question mark in there somewhere.

  2. Count me in the no-swearing group. I like Marcy’s idea… or how about he’s saying “Ha! Ha!” like he knows he’s bad. 🙂

  3. Stick to your idea – soon it will grow and has to learn to slide down the razor blade of life and a little bit of cursing will then always help… (I am probably by now influenced by Viking life)

  4. Hmmm…now that we are having active discussions about bad words at our house, I would say no.

    Because it seems like 3.5 years is a long way away, but it really isn’t, and Island Baby will then wonder what that means. And what a bad word is. And why he shouldn’t say, “Goddannit!” even though Tyler at preschool said it. I’m just saying.

    Though the design is AWESOME. What a great card it would be! What a talent you have just to come up with that!

Leave a Reply

