three little birds quilt

bird-quilt-folded.jpg

I really love how this quilt came out so bear with me here. The top and bottom birds on the quilt front are made with fabric from a great shop called the Hungry Palette. They carry their own line of brilliant hand-screened fabric. I bought a few bags of scraps when I worked a summer job at this lovely spot a good while ago. Of course, now I really wish I had purchased more. The middle bird and binding is Kaffe Fassett. The quilt is mostly machine pieced, appliqued and quilted except for the hand-quilting of a few falling leaves, which don’t show well in these photos.

bird-quilt-top.jpg

Here is that troublemaker I wrote about in an earlier post. I thought he ended up looking kind of sweet just hanging out that way, so I left him as is.

bird-quilt-blue-bird.jpg

This was my first attempt at quilting “woodgrain.” Inspiration for the woodgrain came from this talented crafter. The stitches are fairly uneven, but if you don’t put your face right up to the fabric, I think it looks pretty good.

bird-quilt-green.jpg

When I was finishing the top, I got a little nervous that it was just too darn brown for a baby quilt. So I grabbed more of those Hungry Palette scraps and pieced this little strip of color on the back. I kept thinking of it as a little ray of sunshine; my tribute to the Island Baby’s home, Hawaii.

bird-quilt-back.jpg

Here is a little more detail of the back. If you click on the photo, you can see the fabric in better detail. You’ll also have a better view of the imperfections on the woodgrain quilting. That doesn’t bother me, though. And I know it won’t bother the baby! It just makes it look more homemade. That’s sort of the point, right?

bird-quilt-back-detail.jpg

I hope Island Auntie and Uncle like the quilt as much as I do. I had so much fun thinking about about them and their little girl-to-be as I was making it.

18 thoughts on “three little birds quilt

  1. Okay, here’s a weird coincidence for you. I just emailed you about fabric, then clicked down to read about your birdy quilt, and the fabric comes from the Hungry Palette. Which I walked by yesterday. Because I live in that town. Small world!

    And beautiful quilt, by the way!

  2. This quilt really is amazing. I love the woodgrain details- I am going to check out the link you gave. The little birds are so full of character!

  3. Hi…just wanted to tell you i am in love with this quilt!! came across it in a search for ideas, as i am about to undertake the making of two baby quilts for my twins due in december. Did you use a pattern on this one, or do you have one? I would love to try and re-create something like this for my little ones…on hospital bedrest as we speak and desperate for something to fill the days!!! again, beautiful job!!

  4. i put a photo of your quilt on my blog. i hope that’s fine. it’s really so lovely. your blog is linked. please let me know if you’d like me to remove it. kind regards.

  5. Pingback: just ran across… « to do everything right

Leave a Reply

