fret not

elephant-quilt7.jpg

I am beginning to realize that my creative process always involves a pretty heavy dose of fretting. I suppose this is probably because most of the things I make are given as gifts and I really want to make sure that the recipient will like their gift. I definitely worried a ton while I was making the Island Baby’s quilt. I kept thinking that there was just way too much brown for a baby’s quilt. But in the end, I absolutely loved it.

Well, I was having my doubts in the early stages as I was making the Upstate Vets’ quilt also. I loved the printed fabric but wasn’t sure how well I would be able to match it with solid colors. But as I quilted it up and hand-stitched the back of the binding , I began to truly adore it. And the minute the completed quilt came out of the dryer, I was in love. This is probably not a revelation to seasoned quilters, but you really cannot judge a quilt by its top. It’s the quilting (and for me–the binding) that really makes a quilt. You have to wait until those final touches are complete before it comes alive. Hopefully I can take that advice for the next one. I know that the Cydermaker, Grandmama and Grammy would appreciate it if I did. They are the ones who patiently endure all that fretting. I’m sure they wouldn’t mind hearing a little bit less of it.

This is a photo of the “top” of the quilt.  I was having trouble deciding which color scheme I liked best, so I made the opposite side look like it could be the top as well. That’s why I consider this quilt to be reversible.  (Apologies in advance for the poor photography–I had ten seconds to take pics before packaging it up to send in time for the baby shower.)

elephant-quilt1.jpg

Below is the “back” of the quilt. I am not sure if you can tell from these photos but that strip of patchwork that the elephants are standing on continuously wraps from the front of the quilt to the back. If you look at the straight-lined quilting on the green background, you may be able to see it.

elephant-quilt3.jpg

This was my first crack at piecing very angular pieces of fabric. I did this with the stone colored background fabric. If you click on the photo, you can see those triangular pieces. It was a little tricky, but not too difficult. The elephants were done by applique.

elephant-quilt2.jpg

I loved these two “kissing cousins” on the back. They were the reason why I decided I had to make the quilt reversible. OK–It was that, combined with my inherent need to make things more difficult for myself. Each elephant has a little birdy friend on his trunk. The birds and elephant tails are embroidered by hand. The elephants on the other side of the quilt don little aviary pals as well.

elephant-quilt5.jpg

I had a lot of fun doing the actual quilting this time. I decided to make lots of twists and turns, playing off the curved parts of the elephants. Normally I don’t like this part of the process, but I really enjoyed putting it all together.

And because ANYTHING I make always looks a heck of a lot better snuggled up to my favorite model, here is the little guy, giving the quilt a big hug before sending it off to his friend-to-be. Horray for the Upstate Vets and their little baby girl! Hope you guys had a great time at Granny K’s this weekend.

ele-quilt-with-kiddo2.jpg

3 thoughts on “fret not

  1. The receivers of the quilt absolutely love it and it was the hit of the baby shower. Everyone kept coming up to me all night asking if you would make one for their friends and family, so look out–you could have a business on the side if you want it!!!  I love the pictures on the website because that’s exactly what I wanted to do when I saw it was take it outside and lay it on the grass or a picnic table or the sand and let the new baby play outdoors!!  It will be the permanent addition to the backpack or (diaper bag for all the city moms) that we take everywhere with the little one!!!!  Thanks so much for the amazing gift and thanks for the hug at the end the new baby cant wait to meet the little friends!!! We love you and thanks again for the thoughtfulness.  Granny Kim loved her cookbook as well. 

Leave a Reply

