unfinished business

quilt-signature.jpg

Do you see the date on that quilt? That’s right. It says Christmas 2003, which makes this queen-sized hunk of unfinished business more than four years old. I gave it to the Cydermaker, my husband, when we were dating. I completed the quilt top a week or so before Christmas and then quilted the top, batting (a heavy cotton blanket) and back together by running long seams along the length of each side of the “flying geese” patchwork sections. In other words, I ran out of time and did an extremely shoddy quilting job. And even though you are not supposed to bind a quilt until the actual quilting has been completed, I decided to bind it up. Because I wanted to make it look like it was finished. Not a smart thing to do. Nope. Not smart at all.

1.jpg

I have decided that it is time for this quilt to be given the attention and care it deserves. I was toying with the idea of undoing the binding and those lengthy quilting seams so that I could start anew with the quilting. But then I did a little reality check. I know myself, and I know that I just won’t want to do all that seam-ripping. So I think I will get myself a lap-sized quilting frame and quilt this sucker by hand. Did I just write that out loud? It is going to take forever to finish, so check back with me in four more years and I’ll show you the results.

5 thoughts on “unfinished business

  1. I love that you call your husband the Cydermaker.

    Good for you to take care of unfinished business. I think quilters always have something that they could finish up. Quilting it by hand- whew- you are a good lady.

  2. I was giggling to myself as I read this. Not at you, of course. I have a quilt I started in 1996 (it may have been earlier, but I can’t remember anymore). It sat on the frame gathering dust in my bedroom for many years 1/3 of the hand quilting done. I dusted it off this year determined to finish it. (I haven’t yet.) I admire that you are going after this quilt again!! Some quilts just hang around to test our moxie!

  3. So I have a question as the owner of a similar quilt.
    You can hand quilt a bound quilt, but not machine quilt it? I say this like I would try either one, but I am wondering. 🙂

  4. Hi Anna. I am not really an expert but it sort of depends on your quilt. With this one, I know that if I tried to quilt it through my machine, the back would get very messy looking. They call that puckering. So I think I have to hand quilt it. If you want to drag your quilt to your reunion, I’d be happy to have a look! The other thing you could do is take it to someone who specialized in long arm quilting. They would be able to do the quilting for you. I think my mom used a long arm quilter near where you live, so let I could ask her for the name if you want.

Leave a Reply

