g is for girlfriends

***ADVANCE NOTICE: This post contains more sap than a maple tree in Vermont during sugaring season. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.***

This past weekend we had a special play-date with a great little guy whose goes by the nickname Goose. His mom is a good friend of mine from high school. They live a few hours drive away from here and, lucky for us, come home to visit family fairly often. It was such a nice visit but it reminded me of how much I miss having all of my sisters and girlfriends around. I live in my hometown and am surrounded by family, but I really do miss those relationships. You know. The kind in which you know what the other person is going to say before they say it. But you wait for them to finish because it feels so good to hear that they can totally relate to how you are feeling. Thank goodness for Redhead Auntie who is always around for a good dose of sister-love, and laughs, when I need it. And my runner-friend Roxy. I’d die without them.

My two best girlfriends from high school and I all have kids that are within a year of each other. My sister who is a couple of years younger than me just had her first baby, and another sister is months away from having a baby girl. I dream of the day when EVERYONE moves back home so that we can be together. My vision has us all living in the same neighborhood, within hollering distance from each other. In this make-believe place, we all meet up after dinner for walks, glasses of wine/beer in hand, while the guys are watching baseball and the kids are tucked in bed. It is such a pleasant daydream. I know this sounds kind of lame, but I really do cherish this little wish of mine. (I say lame because I hate the word cherish. But there it is–cherish, cherish, cherish.) Just thinking about it makes me happy.

Besides, if you were me, wouldn’t you want your kid to be playing side-by-side everyday with this sweet little man? Just saying.

goose.jpg

img_0987.jpg

So, my sisters (actual and figurative), MOVE HOME ALREADY! Then we can get together and make cute, goofy things like this:

mini.jpg


5 thoughts on “g is for girlfriends

  1. I love the vision. In my vision we live seasonally between the house on the coast and winters in beautiful Park City. We take our little ones out in the charriot and burley behind the bikes and skis. We enjoy bonfires with our family and friends. Alpine Baby is a little rockstar playing the guitar while Island baby plays the bongos and little man plays the harmonica like Bob Dylan.

  2. I love your vision too. My sister and I are 10 years apart and I am closer in age to her oldest son than he will be to my first child (I was 13 when he was born, which makes him 18 now). Currently we are all spread out across the country but by some happy accident myself, my sister and my parents may all be in the same province soon – not the same town but right now the same province is more than I could have wished for.

  3. My Wheaton roommates and I talk about the day that we’ll have that same utopia. One of them says, “I HAVE to live next door–you have the photo albums!”

Leave a Reply

