one dollar wonder

This sundress dress was made for Alpine Baby just before our beach vacation. The free pattern is from Habitual and it is super simple and very cute. The best thing about it is that after the little girl grows out of the dress, she can wear it as a top. This was my first attempt at making a garment, so the pattern is definitely beginner-friendly.

Don’t tell Alpine Baby, but I found that strawberry print for $2 a yard at Lorraine’s Fabrics in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. I don’t shop there often because it is a bit of a hike from my house and the selection is hit-or-miss, but once in a while I come across a find like this one and it’s worth all the time spent searching the $2-a-yard floor. The total cost of the dress was about a dollar because it only took a half yard of fabric and I had the green fabric for the tie on hand. Thanks to Habitual for such an excellent pattern!

I’ve got a few projects in the works and need supplies, so I will be visiting my favorite fabric store tomorrow. Hope to see you there, Mary.

6 thoughts on “one dollar wonder

Leave a Reply

