making

I am knee-deep in top secret Christmas gift projects.  Two of the projects will be made from this stack of fabrics.  It’s Cake Rock Beach by Joelle Hoverson for Moda.  I have also made some good progress on my Little Guy’s hexagon quilt, though I still have a long way to go.  My plan is to finish up all of my other Christmas sewing in November, and then focus only on his quilt starting December 1.  It will be all hand pieced, so it will be nice to sit by the tree and stitch without having to listen to the whir of the machine.  That project does not have to be kept a secret, since the Little Guy has little interest in what I write in this space.  I hope to do a few progress reports along the way.  It is slow going, so I will need the cheer leading!

Speaking of the Little Guy, he has been up to some serious structure building with the blocks that Architect Uncle made for him last Christmas.  I love his big, booming smile in this photo.  He has been talking a lot more these days.  “Get UP!” – first thing in the morning.  “Hurry!” – when we are trying to get out the door.  “Trick or Treat!” – when he wants candy from his Halloween stash.  You get the idea.  It’s adorable.

Thanks to everyone who said hello during my little cookbook giveaway.  I have to say I was astonished to receive so many kind comments.  People beyond my circle of family and friends really do follow this little blog–wow! There were a good number of questions about the cookbook that I will address in a future post.  The winner of the cookbook, fabric, and bird ornament was Vanessa.  Vanessa, please let me know your mailing address and preference in fabric so that I can mail that package off to you.  My email is acyder at gmail dot com.

10 thoughts on “making

  1. Ohhh can’t wait to see all your sewing efforts. Even if I have to wait 40 odd days (got that off a blog somewhere….), it’s definately worth the wait!! I loved all that fabric you sent me. I feel really spoilt!! Now I have to find it all. Miss CT decided that she needed to help me in my studio clean up (still in progress), so I haven’t photographed or blogged about it yet. I choose to sit out of the cookbook giveaway (but wow it looks great), cookbook hoarding is another of my vices so….

    Now for some hex cheering (doesn’t your little man look so happy constructing?? and I’m loving the CT word/sentence explosion too!), I know you can, I know you can, I know you can!!! 😀

  2. Congratulations Vanessa!

    bueno, que niño tan precioso, como crece, también me lo suelen decir de mis hijos, se les ve crecer un poquito por internet.
    Pues a ver si tienes más suerte que yo para mis proyectos, porque yo casi no tengo tiempo, entre el trabajo (de mañana) y las actividades extraescolares de los niños se me acumulan los proyectos, los he aparcado todos con fecha de finalización para antes de Navidad, Oh, por aquí ya quedan pocas hojas en los arboles, pero muchas en el suelo, se siente que viene la Navidad, lalala lalala la la la lala ; )

  3. Congratulations Vanessa!

    bueno, que niño tan precioso, como crece, también me lo suelen decir de mis hijos, se les ve crecer un poquito por internet.
    Pues a ver si tienes más suerte que yo para mis proyectos, porque yo casi no tengo tiempo, entre el trabajo (de mañana) y las actividades extraescolares de los niños se me acumulan los proyectos, los he aparcado todos con fecha de finalización para antes de Navidad, Oh, por aquí ya quedan pocas hojas en los arboles, pero muchas en el suelo, se siente que viene la Navidad, lalala lalala la la la lala ; )

  4. Very cute blog. How delicious is that fabric!!!! I tried to email you regarding the Black Apple doll face, but it came back to me as a failed attempt =(

    I did answer your question on my blog in the comment section.

    I look forward to more inspiration here.

  5. Love your stack of fabrics! And I’m cheerleading you right now – I just did a jump and shook my pompoms! The blocks are awesome, how fabulous to have Architect Uncle make these – they are rather expensive to buy! And since Mr. MSBBE is talking so much I recomment you keep a little notebook to jot down the cute, funny, adorable things he says otherwise you will forget so many of them!

Leave a Reply

