mini quilt monday

This is a cathedral window doll quilt for my little girl.  All hand sewn. Excellent tutorial here.  I tried to stay away from contemporary fabrics to give this a more old-fashioned look.  I have an idea for a variation on this pattern using more modern prints that I may actually tackle soon. There is lots of folding and ironing and hand-stitching involved, but I enjoyed the process.  I don’t think I’d have the patience for a full sized quilt, though.

My mother’s aunt hand-made her a queen sized quilt in this style. When my mom saw that I had made this mini quilt, she said, “Now do you understand why I used to have a near heart attack when you kids would hook your fingers into the fabric to pull yourselves up onto the bed?”  Yes, Mom.  Now I understand.

Amanda has mentioned that she plans to try a cathedral mini quilt too. Can’t wait to see what she comes up with. More Mini Quilt Monday here.

16 thoughts on “mini quilt monday

  1. This is so darling! I’ve always wanted to give this a try but was too afraid. It’s on my ever growing list of things to do/try.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  2. Really Gorgeous! Will you be yelling at your sweet little girl when she pokes her fingers in the folds or wraps up her little doll in it with carefree abandon?? I can’t imagine making a full size quilt, but boy it would be stunning. I hope you do make one with modern prints!

Leave a Reply

