party time

{Mosaic created using FD Flickr Toys.}

1. Piñata 2. piñata love 3. Lemonade stand, Chagrin Falls, Ohio, Memorial Day weekend 2007 4. summer fruit swap: stacked 5. neon dream 6. Tutto un mondo intorno – All the world around 7. memories of a cozy lunch… 8. swanky bunting 9. 72/365: CITRUS! (DAY O2) 10. Mojito Cupcakes with Macadamia Nut Crackle 11. Lemon Love_Affair 12. Water Fight 13. hung out to dry

The Cydermaker’s birthday is coming up. It is the only “warm weather” birthday we have in our family, so we always have a party. I want to make it a little extra special this year, so all of my craft time in the month of August will be dedicated to the cause.  All the talk of weddings around here (both my brother and my sister-in-law are engaged) has me wanting to do things like sew fabric banners, make customized swizzle sticks, and create silly inspiration boards like the one seen above. I have a ton of fun ideas. Reality and time constrains will whittle down the list, but I am excited to have a change of pace in my crafting focus.  Who knows? Maybe I’ll even be organized enough to blog about some of my projects.  The invites are already sewn up, so I feel like I am ever so slightly ahead of the game.

What do you think? Is it totally lame to attempt a DIY smile-booth at a very small birthday party in your own backyard? Probably. But it could be a lot of fun.

P.S.  If you are looking for some great party planning inspiration, check out Party Perfect.

7 thoughts on “party time

  1. Wow. Look at the color in that mosaic. So bright and cheerful. How could one not be inspired to party! : )

    Good luck with your party planning. (I’m curious about the invites–they’re “sewn up”.)

  2. I think a smile booth is an excellent idea. My laptop has a photo booth app – that’s all you’d need – that and some silly props.
    Thanks for the “party time” blog info – love those little truck “costumes”

    Mary

Leave a Reply

