some vacation photos and some blather

I’ve had a million little blog posts floating in my head lately, but they never seem to make their way to this spot. Not sure why that is. Hmmm. Not going to try to figure it out either.

The photos are from an early September vacation on Cape Cod. We stay on the same beach every year. I won’t get into a recap, but it was a beautiful week. Best sunsets ever right from the front porch of the cottage.

This weekend was a quiet one at home. Apple picking with Dad; apple pie baking with mom. Playing at home and at the park. Visits with grandparents. Football watching. The usual. {Nice.}

All of my siblings will be home just before Thanksgiving. This means arrivals from Hawaii, Montana and Utah. It also means that I will get to meet my niece, Island Baby, for the first time. Oh, I can’t wait!

The kids are doing great. He’s talking up a storm. A very noisy storm. And she’s finally loving solid foods. It took a good two months before she really took to it. Just watching her shovel it in makes me tremendously happy. She’s sitting up and playing on her own. Every little step toward independence is bittersweet. Though to be honest, for this mom, it’s more sweet than bitter–but really only during the first year or so. I mean, I love my babies to the moon and back, but I am just not a true blue “baby” person. {I’m OK with that.} Both my mom and my mother-in-law are, and just watching them amazes me.

I am cutting out a quilt for the Little Guy using all 2.5 inch squares. Mostly blue and green tones. Some of my most favorite bits of fabric ever, with pieces of old clothing mixed in. I was having trouble settling on a design, but the recipient mentioned wanting to play checkers, so that did it for me. I’m inspired by this lovely number, but with Kona cotton charcoal as the solid. I am hoping to have it finished by his third birthday which is right around Christmas time. It’s the only crafty thing I feel like I need to accomplish this year. Just saying that feels good. Though I know I will likely want to {and will} do more.

I guess that’s a sampling of what’s been swirling around my head. I think I’ll stop blathering now. Thanks for checking in.

P.S. I’ve got a tutorial up next. The napkin rings from my last post. It’s simple but kind of fun. Back soon….

7 thoughts on “some vacation photos and some blather

  1. great pics!!! that sunset is amazing and it’s hard to take a bad one of those 2 cuties! Stop wishing for my goddaughter to grow up! 😉

    Love you!

  2. Great pictures! Glad a good time was had by all!!

    I am not a baby person either. I love my kids, but I began to enjoy them more around 12 or 15 mo when they communicated more. Also, I preferred my kids be mobile….they can better meet some of their own needs without pointing and crying!! 🙂

    Have a great week!

  3. I’m just going to wade in here. Love your photos – that sunset one is Gorgeous with a capital G!! And the one of Mr. MSBBE looks like a Ralph Lauren ad. Such a handsome young man! And look at your baby sitting up and grinning – sending cyber hugs! I love the quilt you are going to make, and being so clear in your mind about what you want to accomplish and saying (more or less) the hell with the rest sounds like a brilliant way of looking at things. Might have to adopt that philosophy!

Leave a Reply

