fifty five

Just a quick post to say hello and let you know that it has been such fun having all of my siblings and their families (or parts of their families) home for a long weekend.  My sister and her family who are visiting from Hawaii are here until the end of the week, so I am savoring every bit of their company.

I miss my little blog and my crafty friends, so I thought I’d also pop in to let you know that I have made some progress on my son’s birthday quilt. I have fifty-five of the above pictured blocks ready to go. And need another thirty or so to arrive at where I want to be.  The goal is a twin sized quilt.  Apparently you need lots and lots of 2.5 inch squares to get there!  Seam allowances can be a real buzz kill.

Other news on the sewing front is that I recently signed up for a local craft fair.  I have never sold anything that I have made, so the prospect makes me very nervous. I could go on and on about the many doubts I have about putting my handmade lovelies “out there” to be judged by the public, but I won’t go there.  I will report on how I do {for better or for worse} after it is over.  In the meantime, if you have any experience with selling at craft fairs, please share any pearls of wisdom.  I will be clinging to every word, trust me!

My very best wishes for a happy Thanksgiving to those who will be feasting on Thursday!

11 thoughts on “fifty five

  1. hi molly! it’s good to see you. love the green/grey combo, and love the patience you have with making the quilt… i can’t wait to hear more about the craft fair. you will rock it, i have no doubts! have a wonderful turkey day!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you! We celebrated Thanksgiving last month (I’m Canadian), but I will be attending a Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow hosted by a friend of mine who is originally from Nebraska. Hope you are having a great time with your family!

  3. Hey Molly,

    I can’t wait to see the items you bring to the craft fair. Congrats on jumping in and doing it. I understand the nerves. I’ve done quite a few and I am nervous each and every time. Will they like my work? Will they buy it? The doubts are natural for creative people like us. I try to quiet the nerves by really listening to the comments that people make. You will get some great feedback that will make you feel wonderful and validated about the beautiful things you are making. I also take the opportunity to look at what other artists and crafters have created for inspiration. Good luck! This will be great.

  4. Your stuff is wonderful! I think we get nervous about public oppinion because we really do put ourselves into our work. It’s like life, some people will get you and some just don’t get anyone. I have done a few public shows and I’m usually nervous. I have decided to think about the interesting people I meet not the sales part of all of it and just leave the success of the rest in God’s hands. Be thankful for the creative heart He has abundantly blessed you with. I really enjoy looking at your work!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving! I have no wisdom on the craft fair front as I’ve never done it but I’m sure you’ll do great.

  6. happy thanksgiving to you too!
    love the blocks for this quilt…congrats on the craft fair. i’m sure folks will love your work. one piece of advice…try not to listen to those shopper who say things like…i could make that. remember…you did…they didn’t!

  7. I’ve done several shows in the past years and always come away with a great sense of accomplishment (even when sales are low). It’s just nice to get out in the community and share your love for crafting.

    My advise: Try to smile and talk to as many or all of the customers. It helps to get into conversation (even non craft related) but if you can direct it to talk about your processes then customers have a better sense of the time you put into it and I’ve often find this leads to sales. Good luck!!

  8. This is beautiful! What a wonderful quilt it will make. I have done a lot of craft fairs, and I agree with Jacquie above, the one thing (and usually it really is just the one thing) that can rub you the wrong way is that, “I can make that!” She is right- you did, they never will! It just hurts a bit if they examine it super closely to see how to do it and ask you questions! I try to laugh it off. Everything else is great! Here is all I can think of off the top of my head: Make sure you have someone to give you a break to go to the bathroom a couple of times during the day (I always run around and buy things I have been eyeing all day at this time too!), bring lots of change (paper change) and be prepared to break a big bill or two first thing in the morning, bring something to work on for the quiet moments, a handtruck is nice for hauling things in and out (your own), all the same color tablecloths will make your display look really nice and inviting, if possible, have some things at different levels to look at (things hanging at eye level to draw people in), bring food and drinks for yourself for snacking through out the day, bags for your things you sell, business cards so people can contact you, have small handmade items for sale under five dollars if possible (the smaller items bring people into your booth to look and they stay to buy other items too usually), um…that is all I can think of right now! Hope this helps! Don’t worry, getting nervous is all a part of it, and my tummy usually settles down in the first 30 minutes the fair is open. It is a lot of fun!

  9. I think making sure to have stuff at various price points is pretty important. I went this summer and had hoards for $25, but nothing at the $9 or $12-ish level, and I really do think that would have helped. Good luck to you–can’t wait to hear the report.

Leave a Reply

