oh hi!

It’s been a while. How about an update?

::We had a nice, quiet Easter at home. I don’t normally share recipes, but this lamb was incredible. It’s the second time we’ve made it. I added gorgonzola cheese to the stuffing as a compliment to the feta and used spinach instead of mixed greens. We will make this again, and won’t wait until next Easter to do it.

::We went to the EcoTarium and did things like this in Worcester, MA with my cousin and her lovely little family. It was such a great visit. I am so glad they no longer live on the other side of the country. I made them a draft catcher as a housewarming gift. I love the patchwork bit. And the linen. I actually sent it to them while there were still drafts to be caught. {Minor miracle.}

::Baby girl is a full fledged homo-erectus. And a cute one at that. She is now bunking with her big brother, so my sewing machine and supplies have been upgraded from the front porch to her old room, a.k.a. the guest room. My husband is devising plans for a cutting table that will hover over the bed. All of my fabric looks so darn happy all stacked up on the shelves. {I will show you around soon.}

:: I made a puffy pouch for my new sister-in-law. Fantastic tutorial here. I cut out three other pouches and have done nothing more with that fabric. This is very typical behavior for me. I am always distracted by the next shiny new thing.

::I know about a gazillion pregnant ladies/new moms right now and want to make pretty things for all of their babies. Almost all of these folks are having {or have just had} girls. I am thinking pink. I really need to get to work.

:: I am working on a color wheel quilt with a friend who lost her dog recently. Its a memory quilt of sorts. We’ve sewn together the arcs and are picking out background fabrics. I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

::My sister’s-in-law wedding is coming up in June. Besides a few top secret bridal shower projects I’m working on with two other bridesmaids, I am going to make clutches for the bridal party. I’ve tried out a couple of designs and think I may have finally settled on the exact one I want to try to replicate. The smart thing would be to use a tried and true pattern. But where’s the fun {and cursing} in that? I would also like to make the Oliver + S Birthday Party Dress for my girl to wear to the wedding, but I’m assuming that I will run out of time.

::I signed up for a fun swap. As if I needed one more project. But with this one, I actually get something handmade {for ME ME ME } out of the deal, so I am excited.

:: Speaking of ME ME ME, Liesl sent me the best apron ever. Just because. How sweet is that? (See top photo.) I owe myself an entire post on how great it is to be part of such an amazing community of crafters and show off just how generous so many people have been to me in the past two+ years.

::Having said that, the crafty community can be pretty creepy too. People stealing photos from blogs and claiming sewing projects {and children!} as their own? It’s horrible. I haven’t made a final decision yet, but I am leaning toward face-free shots of my kiddos from here on out.

Phew. That was a lot of updating. Thanks for sticking with me through all of that. What have you been up to lately?

9 thoughts on “oh hi!

  1. I stumbled on your site somewhat by accident and it drew me in, though I am not much of a seamstress, or seammaster for that matter. It’s interesting, clever, sweet, and very well written. Absolutely charming. I sent it around to my sisters! Neither of which is especially domesticated. Maybe I’ll send it to brothers…

  2. Hi Molly,
    Did you already get the message from Katrin??
    She got engaged. Her Swedish friend Eric proposed when they were skiing in the Swiss Alp mountains on top of a ski slope abt. 4000 m high and she accepted. The wedding will be next summer either in Germany or in Sweden. We are looking forward to it. They are such a nice cuple.

  3. hello to you!

    …have stopped by from:

    http://katiedid.squarespace.com/

    …your apron is gorgeous…reminds me of prints my mom would use when sewing up her many, many aprons

    …your background quilt is just so colourful & joyous!

    …& this pouch…what a coincidence…if have left comments on it in flickr!

    cheers & best luck to you & your blog

  4. Love the apron. Absolutely love it. And I do face-free shots FYI. And I’m tempted to break that rule all the time, but then I don’t and I’m glad. Love that puffy pouch–you are such a solidly outstanding fabric-combiner. 🙂

  5. ADORE – all of your projects! You do have quite the list going on top of being mom to two little ones. The home goods swap is just full of great inspiration!
    Urg – the whole stealing from other people’s blog/flickr/etc. is just creepy!

Leave a Reply

