pleated clutch

I made this clutch for my sister-in-law who is getting married in June.  This was the prototype for six clutches I will make {using silk shantung} for the bridesmaids in her wedding.  Since the prototype turned out well, I gave this bag to her as a bridal shower gift.  I was inspired by this photo and from there, I worked out a pattern on my own. The bag uses a 6 inch flex frame closure.  I learned how to make pleats by reading bits of this book, which I borrowed from the library.  The bridesmaids clutches will be a teal color and the linings will be chosen from a range of pink cotton prints. Choosing the lining fabric will be my favorite part of the project.

Quite frankly, I was shocked by the lack of cursing that went on while I sewed up this bag.  Normally, when I don’t work from a tried and true pattern, I end up very frustrated.  I took very good notes as I went along, so hopefully the next six clutches will go as smoothly.

I think I may have one more wedding related project in me.  An Oliver + S Birthday Party Dress for my girl! I traced and cut the pattern (the version with the tab, not the ribbon), have chosen the fabric, and just have to start cutting.

Speaking of children’s clothing, have you seen what’s been going on in the Elsie Marley kids clothing week flickr pool? I sewed a small beach cover-up for a beautiful new friend, and I have three dresses in progress for my girl.  I’ll show those off soon.

6 thoughts on “pleated clutch

  1. LOL!
    “I was shocked by the lack of cursing…” My husband always praises me if I can sew something without cursing up a storm!!! Too funny!

    The clutch is lovely!

  2. Oh wow, I didn’t realize you were working without a pattern on the clutches! You are even more amazing than I previously realized.

    I can’t wait to see the dresses!

Leave a Reply

