sixty blocks of summer

I signed up for a 60 Blocks of Summer Challenge on flickr and it’s helping me to finish up some long languishing projects.  The two charming administrators of  the challenge ask that participants sew 60 quilt blocks by September 3.  I’m hoping that I will: finish my son’s twin-sized quilt top, sew a couple of baby quilts {I’m late on these already}, and start a queen-sized charm quilt for our bed. It’s been fun to be part of a larger group of quilters who are all working toward the same goal.  If you have a minute, you might want to check out the flickr group to see all of the beautiful blocks that are being made. 

The quilt top above represents a collaboration with a school-aged friend who wants to memorialize her beloved dog with a quilt.  It also gets me four blocks closer to closing in on the challenge. {I think I am at 13 right now.} We chose the color wheel design from the book Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts.  It is something that I have been wanting to try for a long time and the broad color scheme seemed to work with the bright and cheery fabric bits that came from the dog’s belongings. The dog’s bandannas and bedding provided nine of those fabrics; the remaining 43 came from my shelves. It has been so nice to have a partner in crime who, with the help of her mom, is willing to cut fabric, help with some of the piecing, shop for the background, backing and binding fabrics, and do the basting.  Since piecing is one of my favorite parts of the process, I’ve been able to focus on that while she helps with other tasks.  It has also been nice to actually use a craft book that I have purchased AND use fabric from the not-so-modest collection of cotton prints I have amassed in the last year or so. I’m so pleased with this quilt top and am excited to see it quilted!

Gosh, you know, I’ve made a bunch of other things but haven’t taken time to post them on my blog.  The summer months, plus a couple of sweet kids, will do that to you. If you want a quick peek, this set of photos captures most of it.

5 thoughts on “sixty blocks of summer

  1. Hi Molly,

    how about adding one more baby quilt to the ones you already have in planning stage.
    Heidi Reisinger (you remember her, Jeff Gedmin’s charming flame whom she kicked out of her place once he became too ignorant) is now expecting her first baby (son) in early August. The “Snugli” which I bought for her is already sitting here with me and she and her companion will get it as soon as the baby has arrived (if Klaus and I are not in northern Norway again on the Lofotr Islands for a Viking market).
    This (the quilt) is only an idea of mine and I do not want to put any pressure on you; simply that such quilts are rather uncommon here and therefore, it would be an unusual present.
    Have you received our Picasa album from Norway? Warm wishes from hot Berlin, Elke

  2. Elke, the Wolpie Momi and Vikings wife permalink
    July 13, 2010 4:59 am

    Please Note: Your comment is awaiting moderation.

    Hi Molly,

    how about adding one more baby quilt to the ones you already have in planning stage.
    Heidi Reisinger (you remember her, Jeff’s charming flame whom she kicked out of her place once he became too ignorant) is now expecting her first baby (son) in early August. The “Snugli” which I bought for her is already sitting here with me and she and her companion will get it as soon as the baby has arrived (if Klaus and I are not in northern Norway again on the Lofotr Islands for a Viking market).
    This (the quilt) is only an idea of mine and I do not want to put any pressure on you; simply that such quilts are rather uncommon here and therefore, it would be an unusual present.
    Have you received our Picasa album from Norway? Warm wishes from hot Berlin, Elke

  3. That looks like it’s going to be an amazing quilt! You’ve set quite a goal for yourself. It’s so nice to do those sort of challenges with others. Keeps you going. And I so know what you mean about summer being difficult to do posts. Somehow the longer daylight hours lead to what feels like less time over all.

  4. I love all of the projects on your slideshow on Flickr – especially the beautiful dresses for your little girl! Your site always makes me want to get back into crafting. I have been away from it for some time but I can feel it pulling me back in. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

