birthday party dress

This is the dress I made for my little girl for a recent wedding.  The pattern is the birthday party dress by Oliver + S. The fabric is Happy Dots in Ice from Amy Butler’s Midwest Modern collection.  The beautiful buttons on the front and back were a gift from Terri. Once again, I have only good things to say about patterns from Oliver + S.  They have enabled someone with very little garment sewing experience to create something that looks crisp and professional.  I learned how to make facings and box pleats for the first time, and because all the steps are explained so explicitly, it was a pleasure to make.  I will say that I was confused about something at one point in the process, but I consulted the O+S forums and the help I needed was right there waiting for me.  My only {tiny} complaint I have with this dress is that, after one washing, I have had trouble ironing the pleats back into shape.  I did the extra stitching that was recommended to avoid this problem, but I still can’t get them quite right. I’m not sure that’s the fault of the pattern or the person doing the ironing, however.   Maybe I should just avoid pleats altogether.  But they are so cute on this dress! I should also mention that this pattern does take some time to construct.  But it honestly does provide you with a mini sewing lesson, so if you take it slow and enjoy the process, it can be such a good experience.

ETA: Mary from my favorite local fabric shop mentions in the comments —  “I think the cloth that Amy Butler’s Midwest Modern collection was printed on was not as tightly woven as it should have been.  Her more recent collections are better.  This may be why the pleats aren’t holding as well as they should.” She also mentioned the following to me in a separate email —  “The quilting cottons are fine for clothing – it’s just that there are differences in the cottons used by the different designers and manufacturers. For example, Kaffe Fassett is extremely demanding about the quality of his cloth and his cloth is lovely.  More tightly woven, light and ‘flowey’.  Some quilters don’t like quilting with it, they prefer something with more “tooth” to it – grainier and heavier.  Most of the other designers I buy use lovely cotton “grey goods”.  I think a tighter weave, like a cotton lawn, would work better for the pleats.”

6 thoughts on “birthday party dress

  1. Great dress Molly! I really like hearing your critique of the pattern too. I think the cloth that Amy Butler’s Midwest Modern collection was printed on was not as tightly woven as it should have been. Her more recent collections are better. This may be why the pleats aren’t holding as well as they should. mary

Leave a Reply

