wedding quilt

This is a queen sized quilt I made for my sister-in-law and her new husband as a wedding gift. It measures 90″x80″ and has a solid dusty red/pinkish backing.  I decided on straight line quilting and did it all.by.myself using my home sewing machine.  {I’m kind of proud of that. If you have ever tried to run a quilt this size through a standard sewing machine, you know why.} The fabrics are mostly Kona cotton solids with five almost-solid prints thrown in.  {Here is another photo of the quilt that has notes with the names of those fabrics.} I kinda, sorta copied this quilt.  And I am pretty sure my color scheme was inspired by this one. My goal with this quilt was to make something happy/spring-y and I think I accomplished that. It was tough to limit myself to such a small number of prints, but I am glad I did.  I feel like they add a little bit of texture and interest, but maintain the look of an “all solids” quilt. The binding fabric is Kona cotton charcoal.

I adore this quilt.  I put it on my bed a few times, before I wrapped it up, so that I could just look at it for a while. I sat with it on my lap on the couch so that I could admire it further. I put it out on the lawn and let my kids play on it for a bit. And even though I love how it came out so much, I was still a little bit nervous about giving it as a gift.  I don’t know why I still haven’t gotten over that fear. I think its because I get this odd attachment to some of the things I make and really want the recipient to love the item just as much as I do. I get protective. This isn’t a great comparison, but its kind of like how you want everyone to like your kid as much as you do.  Weird. I know.  Good thing it was well received….

As you may have suspected, this marks the end of the wedding sewing. I’ve got a number of things in the works right now, but the one I am most excited about involves two preschoolers and a bunch of big half square triangles! {Please note that this links to a photo that is not mine!}

11 thoughts on “wedding quilt

  1. I love this quilt so much and am in awe of your talent and also the huge amount of work that must have gone into it. We decided to put it in the living room instead of on our bed so that more people would see it. It makes me smile every time I walk into the room. We feel so lucky! Thank you!

  2. Hi Molly,

    Looks great, could use it just here. We are up in Northern Norway, beyond the Polar Circle, on the Lofotr Islands. There is a Viking market and meeting close to the place were we are having our place to live for several days in a “Rorbuer” which are wooden huts next to the Fjord shore and standing partly in the water on – would you call it “temples”? i.e. stems standing in the water and supporting the balcony and part of the house. It is very quiet and relaxing and in a few days Klaus will celebrate his birthday here – that is why we made it all the way up here.

    Take care and have a good summer (Heidi is still pregnant, maybe next week she will deliver the boy)

    Best Nordic Greetings, Elke

  3. I really do love this quilt. And totally get what you mean about being nervous to give your handmade goods. I do that too. The bigger/more time I spent the worse my nerves. You put yourself into a project, but everyone has different tastes so it’s hard to know for sure.

  4. Ummmm, hello. I’m blown away by this quilt – absolutely LOVE it!!! And way to go on machine quilting yourself. I now consider you an expert, and plan to pick your brain at some point! I think that I too love the simplicity of quilts made up of squares!
    Really – that quilt – BRILLIANT use of color and the little bits of pattern!

Leave a Reply

