good tutorials should be shared

And this one, which guides you carefully through all the steps to make a lined box bag, was a good one. I added two inches of length to mine and its the perfect size for so many things.  {For reference, I could probably fill it with the tissues from a standard size box of facial tissue–minus the box.}  The only thing I will do differently the next time around is use 1/2″ seam allowances, rather than 1/4″.  I used an upholstery weight fabric paired with a print from Anne Kelle’s Remix line. The zipper is from Zip It on Etsy.  I can’t say enough about their great prices and perfect customer service.

I hope everyone who celebrates had a wonderful Thanksgiving and that you are enjoying a bit of time off to relax with family and friends.  I am grateful for many, many things. This little spot of mine on the internet {and the like-minded crafters with whom it connects me} is one of them.  Thank you so much for checking in here from time to time.

6 thoughts on “good tutorials should be shared

  1. Oh, this looks lovely (and easy, too.) Bags like this always scared me–I tried figuring it out on my own but got too frustrated and gave up.
    Now I’m thinking, if I have enough time, I’ll make some for my gal cousins for the upcoming holiday from this tutorial.

    And I just received my first order from Zip It today. I’m very happy, as well.

    Thanks for sharing. Both this tutorial link and your overall craftiness here on this blog!

  2. I wanna make a closetful of these. So cute. Thanks for the solid link. I’ve tried to pull these off freestyle without help and, well, let’s just say it wasn’t so successful.

  3. once again a beautifully stitched project by you! sewing freaks me out a little, but if the instructions are thorough it helps me work through my anxiety. I’ll be putting this one in my file for future reference.
    i’m grateful for you molly! hope your turkey day was sweet as well!

  4. Hi Molly! Congratulations, you won the drawing on my blog for a copy of the book “Word”. Email your address to me and I’ll see that your copy gets shipped right away. Thanks for playing along!

Leave a Reply

