oliver + s. teddy bear carrier

I adore this teddy bear carrier pattern from the Oliver + S book Little Things to Sew.  The pattern was very easy to follow and sewed up quickly.  I used fabric from Laurie Wisbrun’s Brrr! collection and bought the perfect companion polar bear teddy to match.  I have to admit that my daughter hasn’t actually worn the carrier very much lately, but the 90 degree temps we have been experiencing may have something to do about that.

I love how nicely it crosses in the back, creating a perfect fit.  The print I used for the straps, by the way, is my most favorite print from the Brrr! line. I’d love to own it in a million other color-ways.

The pattern calls for a small pocket in the front.  I decided to skip it in order to preserve the cute polar bears that are scattered across the fabric.  I also made a messenger bag from the same book and the pattern was phenomenal.  I know that a lot of other bloggers say the same thing but it is worthy of repeating.  I love Oliver + S patterns because the projects almost always manage to teach me something new.  I am so glad I own it — it is one sewing publication that won’t collect dust on my shelves.

4 thoughts on “oliver + s. teddy bear carrier

  1. Cant wait to take that cute lil’ polar bear to the aquarium to meet the penguins. These carriers are adorable and you are so generous to make them for all the cousins. Missing auntie time already, but loving all the new memories 🙂

  2. Seriously, the cutest thing ever. And I love the fact that she’s carrying a popsicle while she wears it. 😉 I can’t wait to get my own Brrr.

  3. Oh! I don’t know why I thought from the Oliver + S image (on the book cover?) that you would be making the bear too…That’s why I thought it was nuts. But the Brr! is pretty darn perfect here!

  4. always enjoy seeing your work would have loved to see a little more of the model or are you protecting her identity

Leave a Reply

