housewarming gift

IMG_1636IMG_1638IMG_1633

My youngest sister purchased a beautiful home on Cape Cod that is practically a stone’s throw from the beach.  I made her this grocery bag holder as a housewarming gift.  {I included a bottle of wine as well.} I didn’t use a tutorial because I’ve gotten to the point where I can figure these things out on my own.  That said, I know that Jeni at In Color Order has one that looks great.

I used the Paris map fabric as my point of focus and chose prints that coordinated and, in some cases, had meaning.  My sister’s middle name is Green, she loves all things nautical, and one of those clothespin girls is beaching it {i.e. wearing a bikini}.  I love this sort of project.  It’s pretty quick to make and its something that my sister will actually use.  Very satisfying.

Here’s to lots of fun vacation-time on Cape Cod with a free place to stay!

6 thoughts on “housewarming gift

  1. This lucky youngest sister absolutely adores this Housewarming gift and has already put it to good use! Also, fun to show my houseguests, it’s such a wonderful compliment to my little sanctuary by the sea. What my fabulous sister did not mention is that she also helped me with my first Queen size quilt which is now on her guest room bed for those Cape Cod get-a-ways. I’m lucky to have such a crafty friend and sister 🙂

  2. a gift only a loving sister could make look forward to your posts love dorothy

    ________________________________

  3. Hi Molly, this gift really looks great and from what I read, your sister definitively appreciated this token. – By the way, do you already know that Katrin and Erik are expecting their first child (they will not tell the gender) in August? Maybe you could make a baby quilt and send it to them in time as a “welcome gift” – bet she would be more than pleased. Warm wishes from early Springlike Berlin, Elke

Leave a Reply

