handmade parade – part one – tissue holders

Our holidays were excellent – lots of fun, food, friends and family. Hope that you had a great season and are starting the new year off with happiness and good health.

I figured I would start to post some of the handmade gifts I made. I will keep the text short and rely heavily on photos for this little segment. I decided to make a bunch of tissue holders for the women in my life. Most of these little gifts were accompanied by a bird ornament. I adapted this simple and thorough tutorial. Besides the patchwork part, these were very quick and easy to make.

The tissue holder in the top photo was for our babysitter. She is a college student, so I figured she would prefer a cash tip to any other gift, but I did want to throw in something handmade. Just before I began making these, I won a set of Amy Butler Midwest Modern fat quarters from Karen Gray. Her etsy fabric shop is great and her blog is very sweet. I used some of my winnings to make that patchwork bias tape. (Thanks Karen!) The main material is linen.

OK. I will try not to drag out the holiday handmade gifts too much. My next post will show the rest of the lot (a quilt, aprons, dolls, pencil/pad portfolios) and then we will be done with it and I can show you some of the wonderful handmade gifts that I received. A gorgeous quilt from Alpine Auntie tops that list. Happy 2009!

9 thoughts on “handmade parade – part one – tissue holders

  1. These are so pretty! I’ve been looking at various tutorials for this project and yours turned out the best, imo. I like how much overlap there is. Does anyone know what I need to do to access the tutorial? It says it’s only for people who have been invited to read it.

Leave a comment